top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureJade Wilkes

Christmas volunteering in Kenya

Updated: Feb 26, 2018

This Christmas I will be spending 3 weeks in Kenya with Ryan. I am going back to the village I stayed in for 3 months in 2015 and building a water harvesting system for a group who rescue young girls from early marriage and FGM.

This is the first blog post that I have ever written. The reason why I have created a blog is to allow my generous funders and donaters to see what I am doing with all of the money raised to prove that it is being used wisely.


Having said this, I intend to continue using this site after the trip because I have a deeply passionate interest in the world around me, with different cultures, ways of living, and nature, so I hope that my experiences will be something that I can share with you.


Trip Brief


In 2015 I spent 3 months in the rural maasai village of Loitokitok on the VSO-ICS Programme where I met a group of women who rescue young girls from FGM and early marriage. I am visiting the village this December to build them a water harvesting system which will allow them to overcome some of the drought. The water will allow them to grow more crops which will generate income at the market and enable them to rescue more girls.

The manyatta's, traditional mud huts, are used to home girls until they find more permanent homes.


It is hoped that by building the women an adequate rain water harvesting system that it will enable the group to be self sustainable.


Stay tuned to this blog if you are interested in hearing more about the trip and my experiences with the local people in a fairly unknown pocket of Kenya.


Speak soon, Jade x



24 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page